#LeadLAP: P is (still for) Passion

To switch up my reading a little as I am working on The Art of Coaching, I have also decided to read Lead Like a Pirate by Shelley Burgess and Beth Houf. I’m not an administrator, nor have any desire to be one, but I am in a bit of a leadership role as an ITRT. I do work with staff, and it is supposed to be my job to move them forward in the instructional technology field. I figured this book would do better to guide me in my role better than Teach Like a Pirate so I purchased it earlier this year shortly after it was released.

The section on passion is still broken into 3 sections- content (leadership in this case), professional, and personal. I’m not going to retype those, as I recently did them when I was studying Teach Like a Pirate. If you are really curious about what I did say, then you can read all about them here. Passions drive us and they are the things we love best. We must be cautious though, as not everyone gets why we’re passionate about our favorite things. For example, I’m pretty sure there are plenty of educators who would find me an oddball for my summer of learning that I’m embarking on, but that doesn’t bother me.

Instead, I am going to focus on a couple of the questions posed at the end of the chapter:

Do you know what each member of your staff is passionate about? If not how might you encourage your staff to bring more of what they are passionate about with them to work each day?

No, I don’t know what each of the staff members I work with is passionate about. I do know some, and those tend to be the folks I see the most often. I definitely can say that I don’t have a clue when it comes to the majority of my staff. I cut myself slack during the first year in a new district and state, but this year I need to do better in getting to know more of my staff and what drives them. Knowing their passions might help me do better with connecting the professional development and edtech that I do with staff. We already know that finding ways to connect our teaching to student’s interests pulls them deeper, so why not do the same with staff?

As to the question of how I can encourage staff to bring more of what they are passionate about to work, that’s a good question. I have been thinking about this one for awhile, and so far I am coming up with the idea for a passion board that can be displayed and viewed by others. I’m not quite sure how this would work, and it still needs to be thought about more.

How might you get to know the passions of your students and families? 

I can at least attest to a way I’m trying to get to know the students’ passions more. Usually I talk with students that I spot randomly and that helps me to learn a little about the student, even if I never see that student again. I “stole” fidget spinners from students last year in order to snag a chance to talk to them. It was a neat ice breaker and they opened up after they realized I wasn’t really going to take their spinner!

One thing I am starting to do next year is a student spotlight on our social media page. I plan to focus on on positives and impacts the student wishes to make, rather than achievement through sports or academics. It’s a spotlight for any student, and I want to find a way to display it at the school as well, especially if there are students who cannot be posted on social media, but their families wouldn’t mind them being featured in the hallways of the school. One of the questions will focus on student passions and what drives them.

Beyond that, it takes getting to know more students, and being that positive impact in the hallways. I am not sure how often I will work with students this year, as it always depends on the teacher requests. I will however, make sure they remember me!

Leave a Reply

