#IMMOOC: Final Thoughts

Tonight I finished the last chapter of The Innovator’s Mindset. I was sad to see it end, but I have learned so much from reading it. I have spent time blogging about the chapters, posting thoughts on Twitter, and even meeting George Couros in between.

I have found myself inspired to take my ideas and go forward with them. I have found inspiration to push forward with my new ideas for professional development. I’ve mentioned FlucoTECH throughout my blogging on this book, and I know I can make it be something. I need to face the adversity and take the challenge head on. I need to keep looking at my plan and make it better. I need to get the feedback and input from my colleagues and make it better. We cannot stick to the path of traditional PD, but instead we must forge something new.

I’ve also been encouraged to really share my story on my social media, and in turn it has motivated me to keep pushing for school branding in my district. I’m not done. I need to get the teachers on board and I need them to see what a difference it can make when we share the things happening in our schools and our classrooms. This is another bit of adversity, but I need to overcome it.

I’m done being quiet. I’m ready to be loud and to stand up and say “This isn’t okay!” I’ve noticed this trend in my social media and writing since attending Copenhaver Institute. There is no reason and no excuse not to learn and try something new. You are not too old. You are not too slow. You are not alone. You have help and you can do it, if only you change your mindset to tackle the challenge in front of you. No amount of me discussing ideas with someone will do a bit of good unless they listen with an open mind and consider how things might be different. It’s all about the mindset.

If you’re ready for a change…If you’re ready to make a change and begin by changing the way you think, then read The Innovator’s Mindset. If you believe there is much more to academics than grades and test scores, then read The Innovator’s Mindset. If you’re ready to change, go read The Innovator’s Mindset.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m ready to begin my next reading journey- The Art of Coaching by Elena Aguilar!

Leave a Reply

