Lil’ Minecrafters: Day 5

And we are now at the end of the first year of Lil’ Minecrafters. This week with the kids has certainly been quite the experience, and I’ve definitely learned a lot about teaching Minecraft to rising 1st and 2nd graders. I am ready to revamp the workshop to better suit the needs of these students, and potentially add in some new building challenges, too. I will definitely need to take some time to think on what I want to do and how to make the workshop better. I do plan to offer it again next year!

Today was a pretty easy day for students, as far as planning went. They needed to work on their final project builds. This meant finishing their farmhouse, beginning their barns, and adding in crops, paths, and other bits of landscaping if time remained. We also had plans to practice our song for our performance when the parents came.

The students worked really well, and some of my students that had had trouble all week were finally getting the hang of basic building, and able to work for longer periods on their own. I was very proud of these students. They did not realize that they were having difficulties, but I could see they were.

Most students finished the barn and farmhouse. A few were able to put in their crops. Had we had more time, I’m sure they would have been able to do this. Some of my students took on a helper role with their classmates, which I was pleased to see. I love when it just happens naturally.

At 11:30, parents started rolling in and viewing the students’ handiwork. Impressed is a definite understatement here. They were amazed by what the students had built, and could not believe it. They were surprised to see that the buildings looked like buildings, even having the variety of shapes and a triangular roof! I have never heard such high praise, and did not get this level of high praise during my other workshops. They were that amazed. They loved when the students performed “Going on a Diamond Hunt” and many took video of the performance.

The kids hated to leave at noon, and wanted to stay and build. I had to gently kick some out so I could take the rest of my kids to the pickup area. I gave high fives and shook hands as they left.

Overall, a very successful class, and a great learning experience. I plan to bring this course back next summer. I’ve hit on something and I feel that these kids would love to once again explore in Minecraft. One of my colleagues is going to begin developing another course for this age level so that there will be another offering for the young ones next year.

Want to learn how to do “Going on a Diamond Hunt” with your young ones? Check the link here.

Here are the final pictures from today’s work:

Leave a Reply

