Lil’ Minecrafters: Day 4

We’re almost finished, and still learning a lot! Tomorrow is the last day, and it’s easy to see how much the students have grown from Day 1 to Day 4. I cannot wait to show their work to their parents, as well as perform the Going on a Diamond Hunt song that we’ve been practicing.

Our day began with morning meeting and laying out the game plan for the day. Students would be given time to work on their barn designs from yesterday. Many had not finished their roof. Students who finished early would be taken back to the village near spawn point, and asked to build something that could be added to the village. This meant they had to use stone and wooden blocks, which gave me an idea.

I had had students who loved the brightly colored wools, and loved to use it for their homes. It made for some nice houses, but I wanted them to try the stones and woods as well. Before their final project, I showed them how they could have colored inside walls and stone/wooden outside walls. This was a good compromise, and they loved it.

The final project was introduced: Project Farm. Students would need to build a farmhouse (adding 2 villagers when finished), a barn (adding 6 animals when finished), create fields with 2 kinds of crops, and then add paths, flowers, and trees if time.

First we had to plan their house design, so next door we went with graph paper and pencils. Students were instructed to design their house, making sure they had at least 2 rooms in it. These rooms should be marked and labeled on the graph paper. They were free to decorate them as they wished once the house was built.

I had spent time block off spaces for each student so that they were together in the same area, but had their own separate spaces for building. I counted the blocks out for the first 2 spaces so I would have something to eyeball, and then the other spaces were made to look about as wide and tall as the counted ones. Each student was teleported to one of the areas. They began building the house they had designed. I saw many of them using the wool/wood layering I had showed them earlier, and I was pleased. Most students were on task, and working away.

While they worked, I quickly built a sky road that moved back and over the first village, and then back to spawn point. We were further out than we had been before, and I wanted students to be able to get back to our final project area without me always having to teleport them. A few students got to test this road out, and found it worked well. It will definitely make it easier tomorrow for students to travel the land and show their parents their work.

Since the students had been doing well with the things I’d already shown them, this time I showed them how to hide lighting in their homes. It’s only one method, but it can make a big difference. I showed them how to hide glowstone blocks in the floor, and then place carpet over top of each one. They can use the carpeting as a rug, and light is emitted through the carpet at night. No messy torches, no easily seen lights, but a pretty cool effect. I had quite a few ask me to show them again. One of my boys was making his entire floor out of glowstone, so getting him to use carpet over everything but where the furniture was placed was my way of compromising.

Hopefully tomorrow morning they can finish their entire project before their families come to see their work. I’m sure some definitely won’t, but I’m hoping that the majority will. I hope they can see the progress in learning like I can!

Shots from today’s work:

Leave a Reply

