Teach Like a Pirate: P is for Passion (2.0)

Ahh passion. It’s the one thing that drives us forward and helps us seek the things we love doing best. The last time I read this book, I also wrote about my passions. However, I can’t even remember what I wrote about, and I won’t read the original post until after I’ve written this one. I will, however, link to the original post at the end of this one. That way you can see, like I will, just how my passions and perspectives in education may or may not have changed within a year’s time.

One thing this chapter asks every reader to do is focus on three particular questions and answer them. I have written out the questions here, along with my own answers. One thing I am specifically trying to do this time is how I define students. Since I am not in the classroom or teach a class, I don’t have my own roster of students that I see on a daily basis. However, I have teachers, and it is my job to help them to learn and grow. Therefore, when thinking about “teaching” and “students”, I’m adapting it to what my job is all about.

1. Within your subject matter, what are you passionate about teaching?

I am passionate about teaching others about social media and school branding. These things have taken on a life of their own this year, and they have featured in my blog multiple times as well. I want others to know the impact that using social media to connect and build one’s PLN can have. I have been building mine for a few years now and it has made a difference in the way I learn and grow. I don’t think I would be as passionate about what I do without the connections I have made with these folks.

I also want other educators to see exactly how school branding can help improve the image that the community shares of their school. Families want this, and yet, so many schools aren’t on board with it just yet. I am working to change that in my own district. So far, we are moving in the right direction, and I want to develop some tools or guides to help teach ways that we can further this next year. I haven’t looked at or analyzed the survey results from our branding this year, but I am excited to learn from them and improve.

2. Within your profession, but not specific to your subject matter, what are you passionate about?

I am passionate about learning new things and finding new ways to do things as an ITRT. I really cannot think of anything that’s not specific… but I do enjoy learning how I can incorporate building and design theory into Minecraft and turning it into more of a learning game. I keep working to improve upon it. This year I’ve added components for rising first and second graders and will soon get to see those in action. I am looking forward to blogging about every day of this particular workshop.

Speaking of blogging… I am passionate about keeping it current and sharing my own learning and ideas. This summer I plan to upgrade it more and prepare it for the next school year. I’m excited to add some new features to it and see where that leads me.

3. Completely outside of your profession, what are you passionate about?

I am passionate about Minecraft in terms of learning how to become a better builder and relaxing. I am passionate about the things I love most- my favorite kiddos, my favorite shows, my furbrats…. I am passionate about reading and always having something on my Kindle for any time I may need it. I am passionate about passing on my love of reading to my future children, whenever that may be. There’s already a huge library waiting for them.

I also love new technology and playing with new gadgets. I like seeing the new features, and how the system itself works. I like comparing new features to old, and seeing how technology has changed in short periods of time.

Each of these passions, whether work related or personal, always seem to somehow make it into my teaching methods and styles. I am looking forward to seeing Dave in person and learning more about how to work these passions into my work.

Check out what I wrote in the 1.0 version of this post.

Check out my other reflections on Teach Like a Pirate

One comment

Leave a Reply

