Thoughts

So as some of you may have noticed, I’ve not been as on top of things as I have been in the past in regards to posting updates to my blog, and a bunch of other things. I’m working through that, and figuring out how I can get myself back to where I was. I think I was just a bit overwhelmed, and needed some “shutdown” time to refocus myself. I’m (hopefully) back on track, and ready to rock.

I’m a bit fired up today. One of my coworkers mentioned a blog written by one of the local school board members. Typically the blog posts updates on what happens at meetings, and the member talks about their reasons for voting this way or that. Great! I love that the member is being very visible with what happens and not just out of the way. I read a recent comment on the blog in regards to needs and the upcoming budget discussion meetings. It was only tagged “concerned teacher”.

The comment is as follows:

The LAST thing we need is another ITRT. We NEED more SPED teachers and Instructional Assistants to help with the ever growing population of needy students. I would even suggest cutting an ITRT position. (or two)

Now, I’m not saying anything against SPED and IAs. Not my concern with this. However, I am an ITRT, and there are only 3 of us for the district. We’re split between schools and split our time as needed to provide assistance and professional development. I already have enough teachers who thank me often when I’m able to assist them or their classes. I know the same thing goes for my fellow ITRTs.

There is more I could go into, but I will not. That will not help anything. Instead, “concerned teacher”, whoever you may be, I will rise to your push that there should be less of us by pushing back with my own stories. I’m going to try and get back to being more active with my blog. That may involve sharing a lot more stories. I’m not sure if I can keep up, but it will document my work in the schools. It will show my impact with students and teachers.

Then tell me my position should be cut. I dare you.

Leave a Reply

