International Kids Day & #TweetADream, Part 2

Two evenings ago I posted about #TweetADream and the third grade students at SES. Today I worked with the 5th grade class on their own version of this project. Just like before, students were given the same instructions. However, they were told that their work would also be featured in a graduation video that I would put together after the project was finished. This time I took two pictures- one of the sign that could be posted online, and another that included the student’s face for the video.

The students settled down and thought hard. For this class, they focused on their own futures. Many listed the future career choice that they wished to have, or how they would make a difference in the world. As always, some students were very surprising in what they chose to write for their dreams. Every child worked carefully on their piece, wanting it to look great.

Because I wanted to create a graduation video with the photos, I also got the principal and their 5th grade teacher to create signs. For each of their dreams, they had to write what they wished for the students in the future. The students have no idea what either sign says, so it will be a surprise for them to read tonight!

In order to create the video, I set up a PowerPoint presentation and had each image on a slide. I also had a text box that restated the child’s sign in case it wasn’t easily readable, and then the child’s name below it. I set the timing for the slides, and then added in some royalty-free music. Kevin MacLeod’s site is always my go to for this purpose. I then savedit all as a video file. The result was fantastic.

Check out our images below!

image
image
image
image

This one was my absolute favorite!

image
image
image

What a noble dream!

image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image

And here are the images from the principal and then the 5th grade teacher:

image
image
Leave a Reply

