#vaedtechjourney Update

I have put off doing this update, for I had hoped I would have had something more to say by now. Unfortunately, I haven’t, but thought I should give an update anyway.

As I’ve stated before, I am moving this summer to Virginia. I wish to pursue a career in instructional technology, which I cannot have currently with my current district. Budgets were cut, and I was moved to the classroom again for the upcoming school year. I know that instructional technology is my true passion. Virginia was an easy pick at the time because it was better pay, and there were many places I would like to explore and live.
During that time I also grew closer to my girlfriend, who lives in Virginia, and then at the beginning of this month she proposed to me, and we are to be married in the fall of 2017.

Because I do not like to put all of my eggs in one basket, I haven’t resigned from my intended position for next year, “just in case”. I don’t want to be foolish and resign, only to find myself not receiving any kind of position in VA for next school year. I know this scenario would be unlikely, but really don’t want to chance it.

In the meantime, I have applied to many different counties in Virginia, most within a range of 2 hours or less from Richmond. In some cases, I never heard back from the county at all whether or not I was accepted to be interviewed. Some counties were very good about sending an email when I wasn’t selected for an interview. Though a bit of a sting, I know I can’t win them all, and was glad for the notice so I could mark the position off of my list.

Other times, I was able to receive an interview with the district. I’ve interviewed for one position that I didn’t apply for, and 3 other positions that I did. The first big interview I had for a position I wanted was nearly in the bag. Both my screening and in person interview had gone well, and it would be left up to the staff to leave their impression of
me. I didn’t hear anything for a few weeks, and then I was told that at the last minute an internal applicant had applied and would be interviewed. I knew the process and waited patiently. I received an odd email a few days later that said there was something important with me to discuss. It was as I, and many others suspected- the internal applicant received the position, but I was being offered something else. However, I wasn’t certified for that position, and only wanted due to my technology skills. I declined and cross that district off my list.

After that district, I had two more interviews. Both interviews were for instructional technology positions. The one district wanted me to do the combined job of a TIS and TSS. In other words, help with instructional technology and be the one to help fix technology if things go wrong. The TIS side was a no brainer and easy for me. The TSS side, not so
much. I don’t know how to do what a TSS does, but would be more than happy to learn, which I made clear in my interview. I didn’t have a good feeling after that one though, and yesterday I received the rejection letter by snail mail telling me so. The other district I interviewed with went fantastically. I nailed every bit of my interview and was very pleased with myself afterwards. I still am because I know I did very well on all of the questions asked of me. Unfortunately, I received an email a couple of days ago that said another applicant had been chosen instead. Kudos to them because I know they’ll get to
work with some fantastic people.

This past weekend, I took to searching for jobs again, as it had been a few weeks, and I hoped that other counties would have posted some new positions. I was lucky to find that two counties had instructional technology positions that had not been there before, and sent off applications to them. I then searched jobs again the day I received the rejection email, and applied to four of them. None of these were instructional technology, but near where I wanted to live, and I thought I might be able to use them to get my foot in the door. I figured it would be worth a shot. Finally, yesterday, I sat down and applied to three more jobs, all instructional technology related. As far as I know, I’ve found all the current positions that I can apply for and have.

Today I received an email to set up a screening interview for one of the positions that I applied to over the weekend. I have emailed back, and am just awaiting a set of potential times to complete the interview. I’m happy to get something, and hope that things do go well in the end. Of course, one never knows, which is why I keep at it.

I have never had to play the job game like this before. When I was first hired to teach, I had moved back home after college and begansubbing in the district. I finished up the one school year, and started the next with a long-term position. I was hired in September of that year, and though I ended up receiving a couple of RIF letters, I always had a position
the next year. I’m now at the point in my career where there will always be a place in the district here for me as long as I am teaching here and am doing well. I got lucky in that respect.

I’m now learning that it takes hard work and a lot of luck to get where I want. I’m still not sure where I’ll end up. I’ve been using the hashtag #vaedtechjourney on Twitter to document my job hunt, and it is interesting to look back over my tweets. Even though my work so far hasn’t landed me a job, I’m still positive that I can find something. I have to be. When the time is right, I’ll end up in the position I need to be in. Of course, it is hard to be patient because I’d like to know where I’ll end up this summer and what my future holds. If you’re like me and still waiting to find something, I wish you the best of luck!

Added later: After I wrote this post up, I received another email to set up an interview with a different county. It was for the other position that I had applied for over the weekend. I was very shocked to get an interview for both so quickly. One interview is tomorrow morning, and the other will be Monday morning. 

Leave a Reply

